top of page
  • Writer's pictureKiara Hines

Have you ever used a toilet with a heated seat?

"Reflect on your own preparation for this global experience. In what areas do you feel most confident in your preparedness? In what areas do you feel least prepared, and how will you compensate and/or recover in that area?"


On my way to campus this morning (yesterday morning??? I forget) to board the bus to the airport, I realized I left the key to my office at home. I wanted to stop by and pick up more business cards so that I wouldn't end up running out while in Japan, and I briefly had an existential crisis where I wondered if going back home for business cards and being a little late to a meeting would be socially acceptable in Japan given what I've learned about how important they are. Needless to say, I chose to continue to campus and not turn around, but I did reflect on the moment and thought about particular items I would have turned around for without hesitation (phone and money immediately come to mind).


If there's anything I can honestly say I was not prepared for coming into this trip, it's how much Japanese I retained in such a short amount of time! There were several instances on the flight to Osaka where I was absolutely amazed that I was able to understand certain words and phrases. I truly believe that repetition is the mother of learning. I have also been thoroughly impressed with the level of politeness and efficiency that I have experienced thus far. I had some idea per topics covered in The Japanese Mind and that beautiful video we watched that highlighted a day in the life of a Japanese third grader, so I didn't expect anything less than exceptional hospitality. However, what I don't think I had been prepared for was how quickly things were done. Our flight left shortly after boarding was complete, and the flight attendants did a phenomenal job at serving everyone quickly and cheerfully. Although I have had several great experiences with customer service in America, I think there is something to be said at the fact that I was so pleasantly surprised. It shows that the kind of behavior is not necessarily expected at home and is rather shocking when it does occur. I don't want to get caught up in a "America sucks, Japan does everything so much better" vortex, but I can't help but notice the attention to detail before I've even touched down in Japan.




One of the areas I feel least prepared in at the moment is in the social interaction department. I don't think I did an adequate job of preparing myself to travel with a group of people I normally wouldn't travel with and having to adjust accordingly. I am typically pretty antisocial when traveling, especially early in the morning or when there are several moving parts. I had to do much mindfulness and self-reflecting to refocus my perspective of why I'm here and what my purpose is. It can be easy to fall into the notion that you're on vacation or that the trip (ahem, experience) is all about you and what you want, but in this context that couldn't be further from the truth. I will have plenty of time to make my own personal travel plans and do what I'd like, but that is not the premise of our journey to Japan. With that being said, that doesn't mean I can't enjoy myself and take advantage of the times I have to explore the culture on my own, but being able to remind myself of the why is imperative to make the most out of this experience.


Update: Now that I am safely in Kyoto and about to experience the GREATEST sleep ever in my ryokan (a traditional Japanese inn that has mats made of woven straw and feature the super comfy futons you see here, along with my lovely roommates Caroline and Taylor), there are three things I’ve learned in my time in Japan so far:

1) The toilets have heated seats (and most have bidets, nice touch)

2) Ramps are called “slopes”

3) Google Translate will save your life in a foreign country.


I’m exhausted. Oyaisumi (good night)!




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page