top of page
  • Writer's pictureKiara Hines

This, this, or exclusive ramen pepper

With over 1600 Buddhist temples and over 400 Shinto shrines, Kyoto is said to be the best place to immerse yourself in Japanese religious life. What aspects of Japanese religious and/or spiritual life have you experienced?  How does your religious identity (or lack of one) connect with Japanese religious life?


Today was so much fun! We visited Kiyomizu Temple, which site atop this GIGANTIC hill that we we walked to get there. The theme of the temple revolved around love and relationships and was intertwined in everything from charms wishing good marriage and deepening relationships to love stones that are said to help you find a faithful spouse. The view from the top of Kiyomizu was absolutely breathtaking as well. I personally do not believe in Buddhism, but I have found the beauty of the temples we've visited thus far to be incredibly spiritual and... what was that word David kept saying? Ah yes, MAGICAL. The Japanese culture is so deeply rooted in purity and tranquility that one can't help but to feel at peace when visiting the shrines and temples.

One of my classmates asked me a question that I feel is worth reflecting on: do the people who come to the temples and actively practice Buddhism feel as though we as visitors are being disrespectful and not genuinely giving reverence to the faith or do they appreciate the fact that we are there trying to gain a better understanding of a different culture? I pondered on this fact for the rest of the day, going back and forth in my mind as to how I would feel. To me, there is a fine line between showing respect and making a mockery out of a particular religion or culture; being a Christian, I have personally felt very offended by the commercialization of holidays such as Easter and Christmas by the general public as they are especially important to my beliefs. I genuinely hope that our presence in these sacred spaces have not been mistaken for ignorance and lack of respect for the Buddhist faith, but instead have been seen as curiosity and honor for that which we do not know.


Later this evening, we went to dinner near our ryokan and walked past police officers guarding the street. If you read my rather scary internal dilemma yesterday, it'd be safe to say that I also felt a twinge of fear at seeing police on various corners of the street. I began to panic again until I realized that none of the passersby seemed to be alarmed. Additionally, Kyoto is one of the safest cities in Japan, so there was no reason to be worried. I immediately questioned why I seemed to have such concern at the sight of police and decided it has much to do with how they are portrayed in the media back home. As the wave of police brutality and the Black Lives Matter movement has ingrained fear and distrust in many Americans when it comes to law enforcement, so has similar feelings followed me into Japan. The primary purpose of police is not to instill fear into citizens; rather, it is to protect and serve the people in their jurisdiction. Police should not be present only at the onset of an emergency. They should be an active part of the community. It is good to know that there are still areas of the world where police are respected members of society.


Three things I've learned:

1. "Exclusive Ramen pepper" is the Japanese version of black pepper in America, although it's a little lighter and more powdery.

2. Although images of Buddha in statues and pictures depict him with his eyes closed, they really aren't. Instead, he is looking down at those who pray to him.

3. White peach flavored water is delicious. So is strawberry & vanilla soft cream (what the Japanese call ice cream).

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page